Thursday, December 22, 2011

The two intrepid explorers press on!

So I know the last post was on Theo and this post is also going to be Theo but I had the pleasure of spending some alone time with him today and well he's just a wonderful little guy.

Couple of things you need to know about Theo.

He is his Grandpa James and his Daddy Neil smushed all together in a fun special way that is all him.

He loves the outdoors.
He loves airplanes.
He loves water.

That pretty much sums him up.  Today we went on a --safari adventure--

Ok, it's redundant since Safari means trip in Swahili but whatever he doesn't know that.

We left our little townhouse and walked down the paver-ed road.  Which is to say a road with pavers on it.  How do you describe a road with pavers on it.  It's not a paved road.  Not really a cobblestone road.  Hmmm.

Anyways.  We crossed the busy street --Gitanga-- and went to our favorite exploring street --Jacaranda Road--

Theo walks all this by the way.  And will walk the entire way down to Ramsi Road and then back again.  He is turning two on Dec 31st.  This boy can outwalk a lot of kids his age.  Reminds me of someone I know.

Anyways, so we're adventuring and that means Theo can say run anytime he wants.

This is how he says to run, "Come on Mommy, RUUUUUUUUUn!!!"  And so we run like for 3 steps.  It's very exhausting.

If there is anything you need spotted give Theo a picture of it and he will SEE it.  A butterfly.  A frog. A lizard. A bird. An airplane.  Those are his specialities.  He's ok at monkeys but they scare him a little so he often just hides.

We got to key destination #1 about 10 minutes into our walk.  The waterfall!!!!

Or a sewer drain that has a drop-off, but hey he gets excited so let's not burst his bubble.

We hang out at the waterfall for 5 minutes or so.  Then we catch sight of a blue dragonfly and chase that around for a while.

Call that? Call that, Mommy? Call that?

That's a dragonfly Theo!

Call that? Call that, Mommy? Call that!?

That's a used toothpaste tube.

Then we continue on our adventure. Finally we get to the quarry. 

Or the side of a road near a construction site.  Theo finds all sorts of rocks, sticks and general rubbish to amuse himself with.  Then he wants to go to Terabithia.

Terabithia, for us, is through some tall grass on the side of the road that someone doesn't mow down for some reason.   It's about the height of a certain almost-2-year-old-boy and therefore extremely daring and exhilarating to walk through.

And on the other side of the grass?  A mowed lawn on the side of the road!!!! It's Terabithia!!! Woooowweeeee!  Oh, that's another great thing about Theo.  He is the one to surprise.  He has great impressed noises.

ooooooooo, mommy!!!  A frog!

Mommy Wooooowww!!!! A flower!!!!

All sorts of fun things here.  Vines. Crazy trees. Big aloe plants.  Lots of surprised and impressed noises from Theo.  And a lot of --Call that? Call that, Mommy? Call that?---

Theo and I had a great time chasing butterflies.  Awh and then he wanted to practice peeing outside.

Don't ask me why, we're not potty training any more but get that boy outside and suddenly he wants to pee in the wind. 

Go figure.

I'm gonna miss when he doesn't want to --play adventure-- with me anymore.  But for the time being I've got one great partner for any adventures I can dream up.

Monday, December 19, 2011

Big Brother

Theo is definitely NOT the baby any more.

He knows that these 2 new guys are THE BABIES.

Most of the time that's ok.  I think he is realizing that he can be more than just a baby.  That he has a lot to offer. He is very silly.  And lately,  Lana and Theo have taken to being with each other.  Inventing games. Running around and howling with laughter.  And a lot of this is that Theo has stepped up a bit.  He has initiated games with Lana and responds to her invitations to go do things.

It's really fun to have Theo burst into the room and then say to Lana.

C'mon Lana!  C'mon, catch me!  And off he goes screaming even before he's sure Lana's going to follow.

Our house has a circuit that is great for toddler running.  You go into the court yard, down the outside corridor to the front, into the front yard, back into the house through the front door, and then through the living room, dining room, and kitchen to leave the house from the kitchen door into the court yard.

Repeat.

Add screaming.  Once screaming is added this is very fun.

Another game the big kids have invented is bus.  They have little outside plastic chairs that they line up like a bus and then they take turns sitting in the driver seat.  Sometimes they yell out, MATATU BUS and they fall out of their seats.

Matatus have no equivalent in the US.  But imagine crazy madmen driving vans.  They are the public transport vehicle of choice here because they are informally ran and so a bit cheaper than the big school buses that are the public buses.  Also, obviously because they are smaller they weave through traffic better, but that's also because the drivers are insane.

Anyways, ***Matatu*** can be added to any game in order to heighten the level of insanity.  Matatu-bus, Matatu-stroller, Matatu-couch jumping, you get the picture.  And appropriately once you hear that Matatu has been added to the game, it's usually not long after that you hear crying.

And so goes the fun of children.  All good times must end in tears.

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Let's start getting real

Alright so we've officially become comfortable with each other and now some true colors are emerging! Which is to say, I'm getting a good sense of who antagonizes whom.

Theo really finds Amani to be a bit annoying.

In Theo's defense Amani is a little bit overly doting on Theo. I think it is the beginning of big brother worship that can go a little to the extreme.

Frankly it IS funny. To watch.

Theo will do something and Amani will copy him. Hard to do when you are only 13 months old and immobile. But he makes a good effort. If Theo is jumping, Amani starts to bounce in place. If Theo leaves his blankie anywhere near Amani. Amani sniffs it just like Theo would.

Oooh. And Theo does NOT like THAT.

We've had a number of whoop-downs due to blankie-swipe-sniffing.

On a positive note it is not like Theo doesn't like Amani. He just thinks he's a little strange from what I can see.

Theo is semi-interested/indifferent towards the twins usually. He's got more important things to do. Like try to put things in the toilet for example. Or rip all the leaves off my houseplants. Or his personal best, unpack Daddy's blood sugar tester and put the test strips all over the place. He's busy.

But when he does stop to notice them lately he'll reward the with the occasional -- Hi guys!

And then he's gone again.

Pretty much the extreme opposite of Lana, who considers them now HER babies and loves getting their clothes, their bottles or some toys for them to play with.

Very maternal that one.

Theo, I think has relinquished custody of HIS twin to Lana. She seems to have it all in hand and he would rather be doing other things.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Love

is patient

Well here I am again.  I fell off the blog-wagon for a while there.  Sorry to anybody out there hanging on the edge of your seat.

We're in a bit of a circus over here.  So I hope you forgive me.

I had the insane idea to try to repotty train Lana AND also educate Theo on all things potty this week and THAT sorta pushed me over the edge.  **NEWS UPDATE** Theo has been put on hold for potty-training until further notice. Just too impractical to try to shadow that guy all the time while I'm trying to bond with the new kids on the block; that boy pees on everything.

Lana is in absolute miracle land.  She's back.  She can potty. The girl has game. 

A bit of backstory.  May be TMI for some of you.  If you have ever been in a third world country and routinely talk about poo this will not faze you one bit.

Lana had EXTREME constipation one time but it was all it took.  She ended up ripping her hoo-hah and her poo-poo and let me tell you I have not ever heard even an injured animal make the noise she did.  That said, she stopped going. PERIOD.  When I say PERIOD.  I mean nothing waste-product exited her body without a fight. And it was AWFUL. 

Cut to.  A few nights ago she was having another relapse (I think it was Sunday night) where she had a really hard poo and all that TERRIBLE AWFUL came back and the girl was screaming crying and generally having a psychotic break while going #2 when I just started to pray out loud for her while hugging her (because that literally was how she managed to go at all with me hugging her and crying too).  Anyways, I'm praying that the spirit of SHOCK and TRAUMA would be broken off of her. (a friend of mine told me about this one time-Krista thank you).  Anyways, I pray this and then she manages to actually poo for the first time since OCTOBER on the potty.  Granted it was still awful but it was progress.

The next day and ever since (every single day this week) she has gone potty with no screaming, no fear, and no tears.   I don't know if you can grasp how big a deal that is. Let me emphasize it is HUGE.

So.  That's one Amazing-Thank-You-God.

And the second thing I wanted to share.  Was something another friend helped prod out of me.  (This one is from Aisha, thanks girl!).  She asked me on a moms-night-out how things were going with the twins. 

Now generally I just say fine because they are.  It's fine. It's all good.  We're enjoying chaos and actually all getting along just fine!

But she wanted MORE.  So I had to think about it.  And the honest truth is. I met the twins on February 28, 2011.  I felt NOTHING.  I saw these two little babies 4 months old and so small.  They both had scabies and smelled like poo-pee because at the orphanage they were changed only every time they were fed.  There heads were funny-shaped.  They were not attractive. I did not have this overwhelming sense of love for them.  Nuthin.

But when I met them I decided I would pray for them.  And so I started to pray for them, almost every night. Every night I would pray that angels would hold them and love them when others failed to give them enough.  Every night I prayed for their health and their sense of attachment to each other.  I prayed that they would not lack for attention, even if the attention had to be supernatural because earthly attention was not possible in a busy orphanage with lots of small ones.

And slowly I started to bond with them, I guess.  Because when the boys were given to me, both asleep since they arrived late at night/early in the morning 2am on November 20th, I think I really did breathe out in relief that NOW I could do something physical on earth for them instead of just pray.  But in the time that passed I think I took ownership of them, my affection was set upon them. 

I fell in love.

And so, when asked how I feel about them, whether I feel like they are MINE now.  I think what happened is that since I met them that first time I had to place them in God's hands.  That's what I did because I believe in God and I was helpless to really do anything more than pray and work my butt off to try and get the adoption to go through.  And in doing that I was taking ownership of them in the only way I could from that distance.  I chose to think about them.  To pray every night. I didn't know a thing about how Zeke likes to giggle and lay on his tummy.  Or how Amani will yell at you the ENTIRE time you're feeding him because he really is just THAT hungry.  So now, I know them but I already decided to love them.  It's like when you're physically pregnant.  You can't HELP but notice that your belly is growing and you don't KNOW this little person inside of you but you can't help but start to think about them and take ownership of them. I think by praying for them and starting to treat them as my responsibility since February it was just like welcoming my kids home instead of starting a relationship.

I think they feel it too.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Do not worry

I worry about Theo. I don't like the fact he's had this virus now for 4 days and that he's eating so little. I can't help but attribute some part of it to the twins arrival. He started feeling sick on Tuesday night and they got here on early Sunday morning and it's been such a whirlwind I can't even remember how he was acting before getting sick. I'm sure he'll be fine but he is not fine now, and that weighs on my heart and mind. As much as I'm amazed by how effortlessly the twins have adjusted to us. I think about Theo and it makes me sad to wonder if a bit of the emotionality is jealousy or anger at the new arrivals. And not just lack of sleep and feeling lousey. Poor guy.

I'm sad but I KNOW he's going to be fine. He's going to adjust to all this. And so will I. I guess I just wish I could reassure him NOW and make it clear to him NOW that it is OK. That there's nothing to worry about. That while a lot has changed -- we haven't changed. I'm still his and he's mine. That's hard to communicate to an almost 2 year old.

He cries really easily these days and also gets angry fast. Doesn't want to eat. Can't sleep because he's sick and feels terrible. Puked 2 times. Doctor says it's a virus and another kid we know also has this virus and he also feels lousy and isn't acting himself.

It could be I'm just reading into things too much. But that's what mom's do eh? We fret about our kids.

I look at Amani and I can tell he has a lazy eye. I saw it right away. I had a lazy eye too. I think it was the same one as Amani; the left eye. It's SO obvious with Amani because he's very focused for a little 13 month old when he works on something and then off goes his left eye to some other place than what's in front of him. Amani is little too and not weak exactly but when sat beside Zeke he looks more frail. Zeke is sort of a monster even though he's only 1 kilo bigger than Amani there's just something more HARDY about Zeke. And so here I go again and worry about Amani. About his eye. About the fact that he doesn't seem to work his legs yet. Things that I'm hoping will sort themselves out and could be attributed to a lot of things. Yet...

Zeke also has a lazy eye not as blatant as Amani but it's there. And he's got some weird skin thing going on that is just not ok. Little pustule things on his face and hands. I'm taking him to the doctor and having that checked out. Ew. I hate skin things. I had flesh-eating bacteria in Peace Corps and I think I'm scarred for life (no pun intended). It just makes me itch.

And Lana, what am I worrying about with her. Well she's un-potty trained herself. That had NOTHING to do with the twins and everything to do with the poo poo experience from Hell. I will spare you details but suffice it to say that after two hell-poo experiences she had to go on laxatives for 2 weeks in order to go #2 AND psychologically accept that pooing didn't have to be a horror movie. And so she un-potty trained herself. It was traumatic. For me and her. God I want her to be potty trained. God I want all of them to be potty trained! I really don't like poo. I don't like diapers. I don't like washing my hands knowing I just touched poo. YUCK!

How's that for honest.

But I LOVE them, my lazy-eyed, traumatized, emotional messes. It's cool because I'm one too. So we get each other.

So God. In case your eavesdropping I know I'm not -supposed- to worry but I am and I do. So since I'm so tired because Theo kept me up the entire night because he was sick-sad or sad-sick for who-knows-what-reason but the end result is that I'm too tired tonight-even to worry.

So tag you're IT. I'm going to bed.

Friday, November 25, 2011

Zeke

This is Zeke.

For me, he was the one I wasn't sure about.  What he'd be like, how we'd be together. Don't ask me why.  I don't know. But let me tell you something about Zeke.

I think part of me was looking for him.

Zeke is sweet and silly. He chuckles, he doesn't laugh.  He's portly. He likes to catch your eye and grin.  And when he really likes you he snuggles his head onto your shoulder and just...
Let's his whole body sigh into you.

Amani is wonderful but I KNEW Amani was wonderful.  Again it makes no sense but there was something that I fell in love with Amani when I looked at his pictures and looked into his eyes.  He IS peaceful and sweet. He settles his brother when his brother is uneasy.

Zeke took me by surprise.  Zeke loves to challenge himself.  Tummy time is where he is all the time.  Not Amani. Amani can't do tummy time to save his life. He starts whining after 2 seconds (if that).  Zeke will try and pull himself up on something and then he just stands there chuckling at the world, with this deep boyish huh-huh-huh.  It's all amusing to him.  And it's all good.

And he's Lana's brother.  Yes, they are still claiming their respective brothers. Lana's is Zeke.

They are really cute to watch together. Lana will ask me to bring Zeke upstairs if she's going upstairs. Or she'll want to sit with him at lunch.  I didn't expect that part either, the brother-claiming, but hey whatever works for people eh?


The other thing about the brothers is that they obviously care about each other. And work together. Zeke is the leader and if Zeke is happy usually Amani is happy.  But as I said before Amani settles his brother down. Zeke likes to charge into things Amani gently checks things out and takes things in.  He evaluates situations and while he might start off cautious if Zeke is unhappy; he makes his own decision and then somehow seems to relay his appraisal to Zeke. And if Amani says something is alright. Then it's alright with Zeke.

We always feed them together because it's just easier.  It's an assembly line. And these boys can eat.  Like 2-3 cups of food no problem in one sitting. Gone. And they yell at you in these little high pitch yowls if you go to slow. Yah! Yah! Yah!  Amani got some food on his face during dinner and Zeke just nonchalantly catches his brother by the shoulder and wipes his face off with his other hand.

I think they are so lucky to have each other.

So what is it about Zeke that makes him feel like... home.

I wish I could tell you I don't understand it myself.  But I'm glad he's mine to love.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

It's a Hard Day's Night

We had one of those nights.

At 10pm we congratulated ourselves on another day done and went to bed.

10:15pm we heard Theo moaning and then we heard a pitiful cry...

He had puked ALL OVER THE PLACE.  His pillow, his special blankie, himself.  He was pitiful, hence the cry.

Together Neil and I do damage control, put on new sheets, new pjs, substitute back-up blankie for special blankie and throw all the destroyed things into the washing machine. Theo is burning up so I give him some Tylenol.

10:40pm Put Theo back to sleep, and settle to go back to sleep ourselves.  Then Neil hears a mosquito. 

I can't sleep I heard a mosquito and now I'm worried about Lana.

Lana's asleep on our floor (camping out).  She's wanted to be close by since the twins got here and we figure we'll let her be; it makes her feel close to us.  But that means she's not under a mosquito net.

Maybe we can move her to the foot of the bed and put the mosquito net over her?

Sure.

We both get out of bed.  Neil drags Lana's sleeping pad and I push her pillow across the floor to the foot of our bed.  Then  we arrange the mosquito net over her.  We look at each other, satisified.

That was easy.

11:00pm We get back into bed.

Neil: I just hate mosquitos.
me:  I know, hon.
Neil: I hate mosquitos the way I hate the New York Yankees.
me: snicker. O, my.  Well, Lana's safe now.
both: Good night.

11:45pm Amani coughs himself awake and starts crying.  We grab him and put him in the middle of us.  Neil and Amani do fine going back to sleep but I can't sleep because those two start snoring.  So I beg Neil to go sleep in the room with Zeke (on the king size bed in there).  That way all the snorers can be together.

1am  Theo starts to cry again and I go and see what he wants.  He's thirsty so I get him some juice (since he puked up everything I figure I'd be extra nice) and then he wants to go to sleep in my room.  Luckily I have an opening since Neil and Amani are in with Zeke.

1:30am  Theo and I fall back asleep. 

Aww the silence of no snoring...

6:30am EVERYONE wakes up. Ugh.

Neil says that Amani kept waking himself up by coughing so Neil didn't sleep so great either.  The both of us are a bit half-baked today.

10:30am Amani and Zeke both pass out because they didn't sleep that well last night.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Getting to Know You...

Getting to know all about you.  Getting to like you...

We are doing really well.  Lana has decided that her brother is Zeke (or Zeekey to HER) and Theo has claimed Amani (Manny). 

Lana and Theo are a bit sick. And so are Zeke and Amani.  The first two have a fever and are extra sensitive when they are sick.  The second two just seem to produce copious amounts of boogers.

The first two usually get a lot of extra kisses and hugs and poor-baby-are-you-not-feeling-wells when they're sick.  And let's face it with 2 other kids in the mix there's less of that going on.  So a few let's-quit-being-nice-and-start-getting-real-moments were inevitable.

Lana are you ok?

NO. I'm having a moment. I want to be by myself. And she goes up to lay down in mama and daddy's bed.

But that's it.  Pretty mature for a 3 yr old. eh?  And UTTERLY ATYPICAL.  Lana is a DRAMA QUEEN.  Who is this kid???  I went upstairs to feel her forehead just to be sure her fever hadn't spiked.  And nope, totally under control.  suspicious.  I gave her some extra squeezes and kisses and asked her to help me find some batteries for some flashlights since we keep losing power.  She happily bounced out of bed and helped me with our 'job'.  She loves jobs. She's 3.  I'm hoping to keep her this way until she leaves the house.

Theo on the other hand just has meltdowns when it all gets to be too much.  He'll drop his spoon and it's the end of the world.  His reserves are nonexistent when he's sick.  He's one of those people that will really carry on when they're older. And so it goes without saying that he will not stand anyone touching his blankie. Blankies are very important in this house.  Lana has one too.  But when Theo loses his cool EVERYONE loses their cool because of the pterodactyl-dementor-scream-of-despair.  He once tortured a flight from Dubai to SF with this scream when he got really really really overtired.  OUR FELLOW PASSENGERS WERE NOT HAPPY OR IMPRESSED WITH US AS PARENTS.  We were accused of neglect.  Yes, it's that bad.

Amani didn't know about Theo's blankie.  Or really have any idea that Theo wasn't feeling very good.

And then he touched Theo's blankie.  And THEN he yanked it to his face.

uh. oh.

BLLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNKKIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEE MMMMMMMMMMMMINNNE!

Amani looked like he'd been slapped.  And Theo was already SCREAMING --- OOOH the INJUSTICE!
cue the scene where the dementor sucks out all the happiness from the world...

Lana was watching all this (with a slight fever on the couch). 

She looked at me and said, "Don't I have other blankies. In case I lose mine?"

Well, yes you do. They are in your closet.

I'm going to give one to Amani... and to Zeke.

You don't have to Boo (that's her nickname). They're yours.

No. Mommy. I want to.
Ok.



















Exhibit A - Blankie.

Which goes to show with the ups and downs.  The ups are pretty damn cool.

I'm one proud mommy today. My three year old is freaking amazing. And Theo?  Oh, well, we're all HUMAN here, so I think he deserves a little grace today. Poor guy.  And the best thing was that she did it for Amani, who according to their divisioning of the brothers... isn't even HER brother...

Sunday, November 20, 2011

Hard to say hello-goodbye

I woke up today to Lana sneaking in to our bedroom...per the usual.  She's always first to get up.  She stands quietly by my bed until I'm awake and I pull back the mosquito net to let her climb over me to lay down between Daddy and I.  Even so that she's in the bed she scoots herself up against my back so that I'm perched at the edge of the bed. We finally get comfortable and I hear Theo chatting to himself. Because it is the first day the twins are here and because they got in at 1am I get up so that kid2 (theo) doesn't wake up kid3 (Zeke) and kid4 (Amani). 

So kid1 (Lana) and kid2 and I go upstairs.

Later, I hear stirring downstairs and figure it is time to check on kid3 and kid4.  Lana has been so excited to meet her brothers in person that she barrels down the stairs like an elephant. She didn't want to go to sleep last night so that she could welcome them home but sleep won out.  Now she's determined to get a good look at these guys. 

So she walks into the room and stares at them.  They stare back with a very clear -- where am I and who are you?  look on their face.

And then kid3 starts to cry.

Soon kid4 joins in.

And kid1, well kid1 lets out this wounded moan-cry-scream that I never have heard before and never want to hear again.

Oh dear.  Luckily Neil walks in just as the noise is crescendoing.  Aw and did I mention kid2 (Theo) is just observing all this with a concerned furrow on his brow #oh-dear-something-seems-to-be-very-wrong-with-these-three-but-I-feel-fine.  Typical mini-Neil that Theo is.  Can't be bothered to be too sad even when he IS sad.

Neil picks up kid4 and I pick up kid3.  They stop.  Poor Lana is destitute. This was not what she had in mind. I take a few deep breaths so I don't cry in sympathy with her. 

She just wanted to see them.  She's been carrying around pictures of them and she even slept with their pictures for a while.  And last night she was quizzing Theo on who was who. 

No THAT one is AMAANNNIIII. THIS is ZEEEEKKKE. (exasperated)

Well, today is a day with three little sniffling kids, high emotion and sensitivity.  I can understand why the little guys are sad and I can understand why Lana is sad too.

She already loves them so much she can't let them cry alone is all. 

And that's not such an awful thing.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Lana.  Disorganized. Passionate. Mercurial. Observant. Stubborn. Stubborn. Stubborn. This child will change the world if she can resist the urge to combat it.  Lana confuses me because I never see her coming. I never see what she sees. And she's always watching and chronicling the world before her. And she absorbs it.  The good. And the bad. And then she expels it. I think that's the way that she copes.  She just has to push it back out there what she sees. So when she sees kindness and selflessness it's amazing to watch this three year old model it. But when there is cruelty or indifference she's the first to show how awful that can be when she acts it back out for you.  She tests everything. She listens but doesn't come easy to obedience. Obedience is different she takes everything in and then she analytically evaluates how best to proceed.  She's my negotiator. My spin doctor. And it's because of her that I learn every day (minute, second) that LOVE IS PATIENT, and must be. She tests me on that. She's my goose, my honey bear and a priceless gift because she was the one that introduced me to my greatest role--mother. For that I will always be thankful to her even if I can't always be in the same room as her!

OH, dear, Mister Theo.  Wasn't expecting this little guy to be soooooo... SNEAKY.  He looks sweet, eh?  It is a clever disguise I assure you because this little fellow is generally uptonogood. That's what his middle name SHOULD have been, little did I know.  Or perhaps if he was native american his name would be that -uptonogood-. Now. Let me be clear he is NOT intentionally a bad guy it's just that he has this strange magnetic attraction to naughtiness and I don't think he even THINKS of it as being NAUGHTY so much as that he's just CURIOUS about something.  Like the toilet. Curious, little contraption that thing. The effect of water as it is poured on various objects... FASCINATING. Toothpaste, now THIS is something to explore and experiment with!   I believe perhaps you begin to see my problem. Now Theo bless his heart is also a cuddler, a lover not a fighter, although you might be confused to thinking of him as a fighter because he is also. very. very. sensitive.  If he feels you are slighting him in ANY way.  He's. crushed. NO. he doesn't want anything to do with you. get. away. do. not. look. at. me. do. not. touch. me. do. not. EVEN. say. my. name. WE have had a falling out and if you want me back, you must beg. O, the Drama. While it begins with Lana. Drama is creatively amplified by this guy.


Zeke. Is a mystery to me still. I have yet to get him home but when I do I will fill this in further. He's the older of the twins. By how much, oh that along with about a million other things I wish I knew but never will. But he is older. His poor mama died 2 days after giving birth to him and his brother. He seems from the photos I have of him to be the more reserved of the twins (during picture taking anyhow). He's not the one who I get the picture of a smiling baby.  Which honestly worries me a little bit. They say with attachment issues you see that affect, sort of the porcelain baby doll alert stare thing.  Anyways, in another picture he was smiling so who knows?  I might have him pegged all wrong. I still have to meet him and get to know him.  We DID meet a while ago but he won't remember and it was only for minutes. On February 28th I met him and his brother for the first time - at the orphanage.  They were two of 8 babies in cribs.  Strange thing about orphanages is that babies just lay there and look at you.  Not one cries, they just look at you and sometimes, rarely they reach out for you to touch them, and maybe pick them up.  But they don't cry. And it's not like they are clean.  Some of the babies were all wet or had soiled themselves. And there they will stay in their pee and poo until the next changing. But it doesn't upset them because, that's just reality.  More to come on Zeke, when I know more.

Amani, seems like a peaceful spirit perhaps that's how he got his name, which means Peace in Swahili.  In pictures he's usually watching with those big eyes of his.  He is smiling more frequently in photos. But then he's also the one that is in pictures *being held*.  Again he's a mystery I don't know what he'll be like and I figure I'll give the boys a few months if not half a year or more to reveal that to me. Because when I get them, while it will be this wonderful moment for me; it will be a very hard day for them, possibly one of their worst,  because yet again, they are going to lose everything familiar.